March 15, 2017

10:03PM

Few tragedies are more lamentable than the ‘almost Christian’…

–John Newton

Notes from my housemate’s reading:

   Simplicity–> honor/strength–> spiritual perception

Our unworthiness–>> the grace of Christ –>>Greatness of our obligations?

     Simplicity will keep you from serving two masters.

My housemate–“name here” and I are at the kitchen table… he is reading a book to me… the book is a compilation of letters written by John Newton to different churches. John Newton was a land surveyor on a slave trade boat. After giving his life to Christ, he set out to becoming a minister, he was a shepherd in two different cities… he was not immortalized in history books as a minister, but as the song writer of ‘Amazing Grace’… John Newton spent over four decades as an abolitionist, writing letters to respective churches… pastoral letters… containing the truth of Christ…

     Before sitting down to listen to my ‘brother’ read… my mom was on the phone asking me if I had time to hear a ‘long’ testimony…  (her words)… at the same time my ‘brother’ who I had once viewed as an enemy… (we were not cool at all… Praise God for growth) was standing down the hall form me asking if I wanted to hear a new song by his new favorite group, ‘United Pursuit’… I told him and my mom, “Now, this, ‘right here’, is abundant life.” Mom  wants to share testimony in one ear, my enemy turned friend want to share in praise and worship… that’s what God does…

     Today we attended a ‘ribbon-cutting’ ceremony for a house we built… the hose was sponsored by Dabo Swinney… head coach at Clemson University… the turnout was amazing, the atmosphere was electric… the tenant who was blessed with the house was present… the morning was an encouraging one… we encouraged one another– urging one another to keep up the wonderful jobs we’ve been doing… God was magnified… I received more than a few blessings from those who attended from ‘our’ board (H.O.H.), the office/administrative departments, city council members… the day could not have gone better… my ‘brother’ is still reading to me… and I must say— there is nothing (outside the scriptures) better than that Biblically-based wisdom of the ‘Old-heads’… A.W.Tozer, A.B. Simpson, Oswald Chambers (lost my devotion book, My Utmost for His Highest, but someone at church let me know they had one at home I could get.) Martin Luther, etc.

Leave a Reply

