December 13, 2016

8:05pm

     Today was relatively slow… but it was productive. We spent the day wiring and rewiring walls built to simulate those in homes that are being built. We will be building again soon, but for now we are spending our time further educating ourselves as much as possible, creating scenarios in the ‘shop’…

     After coming home and reviewing some of my entries from a few months passed I determined that I should call one of the guys I got along with well at the center… until recently I hadn’t really known a good way to encourage him without being judgmental or seeming as such… God knows I have my own devils trying to exalt themselves in my own life… God is good and when I called the man, the words God put in my heart were simply to tell him I loved him and that I hoped he was doing well. We are all grown… and a man has to hold himself accountable… working out his own salvation… I’m not exactly sure what my friends going through, but we spoke, and he seemed well… we discussed those things we have going on in our lives… and I presume those things in his life that others have stretched ‘out of joint’ are somewhat parallel with those ‘speedbumps’ I’ve incurred in the short-time I’ve been in my new home. Like I told him, none of them (*glitches/speedbumps/etc.) have been ‘deal-breakers’… I’ve learned to look at those instances and calculate their sums to be ‘life’ and ‘life happening’… not ‘bad life’, not ‘good life’… just… life.

     “Just – life…”, today, has been coming home and putting my new phone in the washer machine… I still need a lot of work in the self-control department… but, I did manage to surprise myself with the reaction I had to the knowledge of having washed the phone… I was remarkably calm… I’m actually finding my thoughts leaning more toward the tug of ‘how are you spending your time???’ Maybe I am stir crazy… organization has been an on-going hurdle for me in the months leading to date… I’d rather be stir-crazy bout’ my priorities and activities in relation to eternity than scraping up enough change for a pack of cigarettes… I’m definitely a work in progress… the enemy would have me think I’m so far from where I’ve been… but the truth is… I’m one decision away from serving darkness, serving the flesh… and that does not always equate to drug-use or sex… the battle is fought and secured in the mind and in the heart… everyday does not have be a day where I fall short of my own expectations, even if I make my expectation to serve the Lord… everyday I have to consciously equip myself, everyday is a day I must commit myself and that in itself is to immerse myself in the scriptures and learn those precepts… to be consumed of them… as close as one can be they will find themselves that much more lacking… I count myself to know nothing but the fear of God that I may know the ways of His son with that understanding that advances the kingdom of God.

Leave a Reply

