August 28, 2016

11pm –> 11:05pm

     Got a new book– written by one of the descendants of the pioneers who started the organization behind much of the assistance that the program, I am engaged in, receives. Began reading it and I’m looking to gather much from his experiences (Reid Lehman). visited two churches today that I have never attended before. One was very long, but also very intense in action/active worship and praise… something I have never seen collectively in my life. the other (visited in the evening) also offered me an experience that I have never been apart of. Furthermore- the theme of all the reading I’ve done today (Bible) seemed to mostly focus on redemption and having faith WITH works. the church I went to in the evening seemed friendly enough, their praise and worship differed in it’s shade of color, to say the least, (flashing lights, heavy bass, etc.)  there was a live band… there were light, there was a concert- like atmosphere. It was great, actually, and I did my very best just to accept the church as it was and not try to find something wrong with the church… there is a verse in Proverbs that speaks of honey… I’m looking for it as I write… literally… … Found it! the verse is 25:16… the verse says “hast thou found honey? eat so much as is sufficient for thee, lest thou be filled therewith, and vomit it.” This verse embodies how I felt visiting the second location of the day and how I am going to address my relationship with that location. I enjoyed the message there, but everything seemed almost so good that I don’t want to allow myself to overdo that good thing. The greatest strength of the church, outside of God, is the people… and their actions… the greatest weakness of the church is the people, and it’s actions as well as the lack thereof.

Author: clhemingwayii

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth! Isaiah 52:7(KJV)

Leave a Reply

