August 18, 2016

Some days, most days, I finish up grabbing my notebook from my locker, going to my bed- cutting my lamp on, and lying down to reflect on the day I have had and documenting at least one incident (good or bad) and framing that memory for the very purpose of capturing experiences. some time around 25-30 minutes ago, I was sitting in a metal chair ( I think they were fold-ups). in the gym of the greenville Rescue Mission. There was a graduation ceremony. The ceremony was in honor of those who were graduating from the discipleship program, I am in now. Currently I am sitting on my bed… it’s a bunk bed. Neither of my tw roommates are here in the room with me. The main light is on… there are footsteps in the hallway of men still dressed in their formal attire, men are discussing experiences of the night, those experiences long passed , and experiences yet to come, some guys singing the ‘leaving on a jet plane’ song, and *guest name here* stopped by my door to ask me if i want to accompany him to the computer lab… wwe have to be accountable for one another… being that these things can be documented along with me being in the computer room, I’ve made the transition. Grabbing my Bible, I rose from my bed, accidentally kicking a shoe out of line (under my bed), walked to my room’s entrance, cut off my light after– halfway looking back– conscious of my shoes being out of place… making a left from my door, a right, another right, and then a left . (After walking down the halls together) we enter the computer lab, I cut on the light, and *guest name here* asks me, “how long can we be in heeuh?” I tell him… “I think until about 9″… After we figure his password out for his computer access I return to the business of this memory and after taking note of the quickly dimming night-sky– I welcome thoughts of appreciation… I know where I am, I know who I am… I know who I am with… for the most part I am aware of the goings on between now and when I will be laying my head down to sleep… I am safe… we are safe… it’s been raining… I am dry… I have eaten… we have eaten… there are voices (multiple voices) of laughter, hearty laughter– with substance, voices asking favors, voices of concen…all of them voices of those who are on ja journey like unto my own… in this moment I have peace… in this moment I have purpose…in this moment I have direction… more than all these things– I know where my help came from… my life is guarded today… I look forward to a life of serving others… a life of fellowship. A life filled with wonderful moments like this one… of arriving but not having yet attained…a life of subtle victories… a life of looking “forward to’s” and not “regretting thats”— a life of fulfillment and abundance. Not shame, fear, or disappointment…a life that I will share with others… and age well, where on particularly quiet nights I will take opportunity to remember these pages and the nights, where, men void of character became peculiar individuals… individuals who knew only falsehood, came to know truth. Nights spent with “strangers” who learned to rest easy in one another’s company as brothers and… dwelling in a secret place abiding under the shadow of the Almighty.

Author: clhemingwayii

How beautiful upon the mountains are the feet of him that bringeth good tidings, that publisheth peace; that bringeth good tidings of good, that publisheth salvation; that saith unto Zion, Thy God reigneth! Isaiah 52:7(KJV)

Leave a Reply

