May 18, 2016

Devotion: “God’s Otherness”

It is at God’s discretion what He reveals to believers/ unbelievers. God reveals Himself to those who seek Him… though he remains shrouded in mystery… these are necessary boundaries God uses to appropriate our relationship… where His sovereignty and our humanity are respected.

Scripture: Deuteronomy 29:29                                                                                                                The secret things belong unto the LORD our God: but those things which are revealed belong unto us and to our children forever, that we may do all the words of this law.

This is a very beautiful verse… (paraphrase) those things that are secret are hidden in the Lord, those things which are revealed, belong to us and our families forever.

Psalms 34:18 “The Lord is nigh unto them that are of a broken heart; and saveth such as be of a contrite spirit.”

Psalms 51:17“The sacrifices of God are a broken spirit: a broken and a contrite heart, O God, thou wilt not despise.”

Psalms 69:20“Reproach hath broken my heart; and I am full of heaviness: and I looked for some to take pity, but there was none; and for comforters, but I found none.”

PM

Spoke with my mom and dad today… this conversation went very well. Got a letter from my mom… Love my mom, love my dad, and I’m excited for the mending God will do in our relationship. Mom sounded like she was happy, so did my dad. I am very proud of both of them and excited for both of them. I think they are going to church together. (Dad would not come to the church we used to go to.) But that is a major plus… Mom’s letter said something about being interested in doing the counseling thing with my mom and dad. (Family counseling.) It is “touching” to know I can grow in Christ with my family, and we can all grow in Christ as a family. Schlaf gut.

 

Leave a Reply

