April 30, 2016

Saturday

Romans 8:23

And not only they, but ourselves also, which have the firstfruits of the spirit, even we ourselves groan within ourselves, waiting for the adoption, to wit, the redemption of our body.

I wrote down this verse in reference to a passage I read today regarding Jesus’ not promising comfort, Jesus’ calling us to bear shame for His name and joy. He didn’t promise that we would all stay alive, or be spared by any means. We will not be tempted/tested beyond what we are able. Resist the devil and he will flee… He has no choice but to leave at the name of Christ and at the presence of God… I thought about leaving today and how that would “play-out”, that’s not what I want… I know this… but I’ve come to believe that what I want has nothing to do with anything, I know I am incapable of managing my own life, beyond, submitting all my life to the Lord. That has been an everyday work in devotion. In a relationship such as with a woman they say the “chase” is the most memorable thing and “sweet” part of the relationship. Once you get the girl, that “excitement” is gone. Not only is this not true, and not only has this been an error in my thinking, but it came to me, that in my relationship with Christ… this will not ever be a remote possibility. In our relationships with Christ this should be the last fear I have. If I am to ever feel “bored” with my life in Christ, then, “I’m” doing/focusing on the wrong things, I am spiritually “out-of-tune” and need to get connected with God immediately.

Leave a Reply

